Sunset on the Lake

Sitting on the side of the lake,
I dip my bare naked feet into the water,
I feel the heat escape from in between my toes.

Staring out over the vast murky liquid,
I see the sun’s reflection on this natural mirror,
But only for a brief moment as it descends below the trees.

Now, only the porch light keeps the darkness away,
With the sun down, I stop making my tiny ripples in the lake,
I leave wet footprints on the lawn and the hardwood of the kitchen floor.

I dry my feet on my towel,
Before entering my bed at this time of rest,
My eyes shut, as I enter into a deep, peaceful, slumber.

Leave a Reply

