Running Away From Home

I walked out that night,
In my black hoodie,
That my brother gave to me before he left,
For two years,
On his church mission,
Where he came closer to God,
And I walked out that night,
Away from Him.

Walking on the side of the road,
Praying to hitchhike,
To no avail,
I walked under the street-lamps,
Which seem to blink in and out of existence,

And underneath those street-lamps,
Stood a boy,
In a black hoodie,
Blinking in and out of existence,
Not sure which reality is real anymore,
Building a house of lies,
And living inside for years,
Now, bulldozed to the ground,
He is left exposed to the world,
And I couldn’t cope,
So he walked,
Under the street-lamps,
Just to get away.

And he stayed a boy for one more day.
Running away from the situation,
Like a creature who loses their home,
Moving forward to find another shelter,
I moved backward,
To find a new life,
Somewhere I could be free,
And the first thing I said was a lie,
And stayed a boy for one more day.

Leave a Reply

